The bonus buy feature in slots: what it is, what it costs and where it is restricted
A bonus buy is a slot button that lets you pay a fixed price, shown as a multiple of your stake, to go straight to the feature round. Provider pages list prices from 80x to 1,000x the bet. The return is a long-run average, so one buy can pay back far less than its price.
Key facts
| Fact | Value | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gates of Olympus 1000 (Pragmatic Play) | Bonus buy for 100x the bet; RTP 96.50% | As of October 2026 | Source 1 |
| Mental (Nolimit City) | Buy prices from 80x to 1,000x the base bet; may be removed in some regulated markets | As of October 2026 | Source 2 |
| Extra Chilli (Big Time Gaming) | Feature Drop; RTP shown as 96.15% to 96.41% | As of October 2026 | Source 3 |
| Germany, GlüStV 2021 § 22a(7) | Stake capped at one euro per virtual slot game | As of October 2026 | Source 5 |
| Britain, RTS 14A | Products must not actively encourage players to increase their stake | As of October 2026 | Source 6 |
| Minimum online bet in Kenya | KES 20 (s.71(1) of the Act) | As of October 2026 | Source 7 |
| Bonus buys in Kenyan law | No provision in the Act or the 2026 Regulations as gazetted | As of October 2026 | Source 7 |
What a bonus buy is
A bonus buy is a button that lets you pay a fixed price to go straight into a slot's feature round, often free spins, instead of waiting for it to trigger during normal play. The price is shown as a multiple of your stake. Wins inside the round still form according to the game's win type, described in paylines and ways to win.
Providers give the feature different names. Pragmatic Play says the free spins round in Gates of Olympus 1000 can also be triggered with a bonus buy in the base game. Nolimit City calls its version the Nolimit Bonus, and Big Time Gaming's Extra Chilli page describes a Feature Drop that lets the player trigger the feature at any time.
A buy does not take the outcome out of the random number generator's hands: what the round pays is still random. What changes is how much money rides on one decision, and the share of it returned, which is what RTP in slots measures.
What providers list for the price
The table brings together what four providers print on their own game pages. None of the four labels a separate RTP figure for the buy.
| Game (provider) | Name of the feature | Price on the page | RTP shown on the page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gates of Olympus 1000 (Pragmatic Play) | Bonus buy | 100x the player's bet | 96.50% |
| Mental (Nolimit City) | Nolimit Bonus | 80x to 1,000x the base bet, by feature | 96.08% |
| Extra Chilli (Big Time Gaming) | Feature Drop | Not stated on the page | 96.15% to 96.41% |
| Big Bamboo (Push Gaming) | Bonus Buy | Not stated on the page | 96.13% or 94.13%; may vary per casino |
Nolimit City adds a note under its buy: the feature may be removed in some regulated markets. Push Gaming writes that the RTP of the game can be found in the user panel and on the game loading screen.
What RTP means for a buy
RTP for a buy works like RTP for a spin. It is the share of the amount paid that comes back on average, measured across a very large number of buys rather than one.
Illustrative example: an RTP of 96.50% on a 100x buy means an average return of 96.5 times the stake per buy over the long run. Any single buy can return a small fraction of its price, or many times it.
Some games print one RTP for the whole game, and others print a range or several settings. Big Time Gaming gives a range for Extra Chilli without saying on that page which figure belongs to which mode. Where a game's help screen states a separate figure for the buy, that is the figure that applies to money spent on it.
In Kenya, L.N. 112 r.45(4) makes operators disclose each game's theoretical return to player to the Authority, and r.45(1) makes them display game rules before any wager. Neither provision mentions buys.
Cost illustration in shillings
Illustrative example, with assumed figures: a base stake of KES 20, which is the minimum online bet under section 71(1) of the Gambling Control Act, 2025, and a buy priced at 100x. One buy costs KES 2,000.
If the buy's RTP were 96.50%, the average return across many buys would be KES 1,930, an average cost of KES 70 per buy. Ten buys would mean KES 20,000 paid and an expected loss of KES 700, while the actual result of any ten could sit far above or far below that.
The same KES 2,000 staked as 100 spins of KES 20 at the same RTP carries the same expected loss of KES 70. The difference is how the money is risked: one feature round settles the whole KES 2,000. The RTP calculator turns any RTP and stake into an expected loss.
Price ladders raise the sums quickly. At the top of Mental's listed range, 1,000x a KES 20 base bet is KES 20,000 for a single buy. How unevenly a round can pay depends on the game's volatility, explained in slot volatility explained.
Why some regulators restrict it
Provider notes show the feature is switched off in some places. Nolimit City says its buy may be removed in some regulated markets but does not list them, and none of the regulator texts opened for this guide names the bonus buy.
Published game rules show the kind of concern involved. Germany's State Treaty on Gambling 2021 (GlüStV 2021), § 22a(7), caps the stake for a virtual slot game at one euro per game, and § 22a(6) requires a game to last at least five seconds on average. Illustrative example: a buy priced at 100x a one-euro stake would cost 100 euros, a hundred times that per-game cap.
In Britain, the Gambling Commission's technical standard RTS 14A states that gambling products must not actively encourage customers to chase their losses, increase their stake or increase the amount they have decided to gamble. Requirement 14E bars features that let a customer reduce the time until the result is presented, naming turbo, quick spin and slam stop.
A buy puts many stakes into one round and skips the base game. Rules on stake size and game speed are the ones that touch it, although each text speaks in general terms.
Where Kenya's rules stand
The Gambling Control Act, 2025 and its 2026 Regulations as gazetted contain no provision on bonus buys. Section 2 of the Act defines a stake as money or money's worth that a player may risk to make a bet or buy into a gambling game.
The general rules apply to any game with a buy. Section 71(1) sets the KES 20 minimum online bet, L.N. 112 r.45(2) requires the random number generator to be certified, and r.84 requires operators to offer deposit, loss, session and expenditure limits that the player sets.
Those tools, and the regulator's toll-free line, are set out on the help and limits page.
Questions and answers
What does bonus buy mean in slots?
It means paying a fixed price, shown as a multiple of your stake, to enter a slot's feature round straight away instead of waiting for it to trigger. Pragmatic Play, for example, says the free spins round of Gates of Olympus 1000 can be triggered with a bonus buy for 100x the bet. What the round then pays is still random.
Is the RTP of a bonus buy higher than for normal spins?
There is no general answer, and none of the provider pages opened for this guide gives a separate figure for the buy. Some list one RTP, some list several settings, and Big Time Gaming lists a range. Where a game's help screen gives a buy RTP, it describes the long-run share of the buy price paid back, not a forecast for one round.
How much does a bonus buy cost in shillings?
It depends on the price multiple and your stake. Illustrative example: at a KES 20 base stake, a 100x buy costs KES 2,000, and a 1,000x buy, the top of the range Nolimit City lists for Mental, costs KES 20,000. At an assumed RTP of 96.50%, a 100x buy loses KES 70 on average across many buys.
Why is the bonus buy not available in some countries?
Providers say so without naming the places: Nolimit City writes that its buy may be removed in some regulated markets. Published rules show where it can clash. Germany's GlüStV 2021, § 22a(7), caps a virtual slot stake at one euro per game, and Britain's RTS 14A bars products that actively encourage players to increase their stake.
Is a bonus buy allowed in Kenya?
No Kenyan provision deals with bonus buys by name, so there is no rule written for them. The general rules apply: section 28(1) of the Gambling Control Act, 2025 requires every gambling activity to be licensed, L.N. 112 r.45(1) requires game rules to be displayed before a wager, and r.84 requires operators to offer limits that players set.
Sources
- Pragmatic Play: Gates of Olympus 1000 slot demo, read on 29 October 2026.
- Nolimit City: Mental slot, read on 29 October 2026.
- Big Time Gaming: Extra Chilli, read on 29 October 2026.
- Push Gaming: Big Bamboo, read on 29 October 2026.
- Bayerische Staatskanzlei (BAYERN.RECHT): Glücksspielstaatsvertrag 2021 (GlüStV 2021), § 22a Virtuelle Automatenspiele, read on 29 October 2026.
- Gambling Commission (Great Britain): RTS 14 - Responsible product design (Remote gambling and software technical standards), read on 29 October 2026.
- Gambling Regulatory Authority of Kenya (gra.go.ke): Gambling Control Act, 2025 (No. 14 of 2025), Kenya Gazette Supplement No. 141, read on 29 October 2026.
- Gambling Regulatory Authority of Kenya (gra.go.ke): The Gambling Control (Conduct of Gambling Operations) Regulations, 2026 (L.N. 112 of 2026), read on 29 October 2026.